MyFitnessPal

Found out about an app through Instagram called MyFitnessPal. Basically a calorie tracker, and gives you the option of gaining or losing half a pound or a pound a week based on your goal. Bases your needs off age, height, current weight, goal weight, and level of exercise. Right now I am sitting at about 230lbs, so I picked 250lbs as my goal weight (though ideally I would like to be 270lbs at some point) and put that I’d like to gain a pound a week. They have a huge database of foods so you can find what you’re looking for or pretty close to. And if not, you can create your own. I think my current calorie intake is fairly on point, but I am curious to see how the app shows how my training sessions affect my calorie intake- I have a feeling I am taking in enough calories if I wasn’t lifting, but that the lifting depletes them so I may need to add in some more. I also tend not to eat as much on the weekends. I think this app will be a great tool that I wish I had long ago. It will help me to better see where I am missing calories and to help me reach my goals quicker by holding me accountable. I’m not saying I’ll be 250 by the end of the year or 270 by the end of next year, but at least with this I can see where I am faltering and what changes I need to make.

Leave a comment